1.888.543.6765 |


Frequently Asked Questions - Nevada Mechanics Lien

Nevada Lien Documents are Easy to File with LienItNow.com

What is a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim?

In Nevada, liens filed on private property are known as Mechanic's Liens. When a Nevada mechanics lien is filed with regard to work performed on privately owned property, it attaches to and encumbers the fee simple ownership of property. In Nevada, mechanic's lien rights are not afforded contractors on public works jobs.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Document


Who can file a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim?

Contractors, as well as subcontractors, sub-subcontractors and suppliers who have a contract with a general contractor or a subcontractor can file a Nevada mechanics lien. Only licensed contractors may claim Nevada mechanics liens for work which requires a contractor's license. If Nevada requires a license to perform that type of work, only licensed parties may claim a Nevada mechanics lien for performing that type of work.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Claim Document


Are pre-lien notices for a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim required?

Generally, pre-lien notices are not required for contractors, but subcontractors, including those who contract with or supply to direct subcontractors, are entitled to claim a Nevada mechanics lien provided he gives written notice to the owner. Notice should be given within 31 days of performing work or providing materials. While a Nevada mechanics lien does not attach until the notice required by the statute is provided to the owner, a subcontractor may provide notice after the labor or materials are supplied, making the Nevada mechanics' lien valid to the extent of work performed within the 31 days before the date of notice. With regard to residential projects, everyone, including contractors, must provide a 15 day notice of intent to lien prior to filing a notice of lien claim.

Click Here to File a Nevada Prelien Document


Can you file a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim without a pre-lien notice?

Contractors can file a Nevada mechanics lien without a pre-notice, but subcontractors, sub-subcontractors and suppliers must file a pre-lien notice prior to filing a construction lien. “With regard to residential projects, everyone, including those in contract with the owner, must provide a 15 day notice of intent to lien prior to filing a notice of lien claim.

Click Here to File a Nevada Prelien Notice Document


When should a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim be filed?

mechanics' liens on private property must be filed within 90 daysof the later of the completion of the work of improvement, the last delivery of material or the last performance of work. If a notice of completion is recorded by the owner, the Nevada mechanics lien must be filed within 40 days of the recording of the notice of completion.

Click Here to File a Nevada Construction Lien Document


How much does it cost to file a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves Nevada mechanics' liens for a fee of $290.00.  Pre-lien notices are not included in the $290.00 price, but can be filed for a fee of $50.00.

Click Here to File a Nevada Mechanics Lien Document


Do I need a written contract in order to file a Nevada mechanics lien claim?

No. It is sufficient that the labor or materials were provided at the instance or request of the owner or his agent. If there is no contract, the lien attaches in the amount of the full market value of the labor performed or materials supplied or rented, including a reasonable allowance for overhead and profit.

Click Here to File a Nevada Property Lien Document


How does filing a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim help me get my money?

On a private project, the Nevada mechanics' lien places an encumbrance on the property that makes it difficult to resell or re-finance the property without first removing the Nevada mechanics lien.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Claim Document


What is a Nevada Stop Notice and why should it be filed?

LienItNow.com prepares and serves Nevada Stop Notices for a fee of $125.00.  A Stop Notice can be filed on both public and private projects, and is a notification that has the ability to enhance the effectiveness of a mechanic's lien. A Stop Notice, or a notice to withhold funds, is sent to the company that is financing or funding the construction funds for a project. Once that company receives the Stop Notice, that company has notice that it should withhold sufficient money to satisfy the stop notice claim. The purpose of the Stop Notice is to provide the lender, financiers or funders of the construction project notice that there is money owed to a contractor, subcontractor or supplier so that an inquiry can be made as to why that money is not being paid.

Click Here to File a Nevada Stop Notice Document 


What is an Amendment to a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves Nevada Amendments to mechanics' lien Claims for a fee of $250.00.  Amendments to a mechanics' lien claim are often needed when something about the lien claim changes.  Common changes to a lien claim are increases or reductions in the amount due to the lienor, or a change to the last date of work.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Amendment Document


When should a Nevada Discharge of mechanics' lien claim be filed?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves Nevada Discharges of mechanics' lien Claims for a fee of $85.00.  Once the lienor has been paid the amount contained in its lien claim, or has come to an agreement that requires the lien claim to be removed from the property records, a Discharge of mechanics' lien Claim should be filed.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Release Document


How much does it cost to file an Extension of a Nevada mechanics' lien Claim?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves extensions of mechanics' lien Claims for a fee of $85.00.  Nevada lien claims expire after a six month period and can only be extended if a written agreement between the owner and lien claimant extending he same is recorded with the county recorder before the expiration of the six month period.

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Extension Document


Can I file a Bond Claim on a Nevada Project?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves Nevada Bond Claims for a fee of $275.00.  Bond claims can only be filed on a project where the owner, contractor or subcontractor have obtained a payment bond to ensure that every contractor receives payment for the work performed on the Project. The payment bonds issued by sureties for construction projects have specific timing requirements, but most require claimants to submit claims against the bond within sixty to ninety days from the claimants' last date of work. Bond claims can be more effective than a lien claim because the payment bond acts as a guarantee that payment will be made for work properly completed. Bonds are required on public projects.

Click Here to File a Nevada Bond Claim Document


Do I need to file a Pre-Notice to make a claim against a Nevada payment bond?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves Nevada Pre-Notices for bond claims for a fee of $50.00.  A claimant with no direct contractual relationship with the prime contractor must serve on the prime contractor, within 30 days of first supplying materials or labor, a written notice. Failure to do so at the outset will limit bond rights to the 30 days prior to notice being given. Claimants with direct contracts with the prime contractor are not required to give the 30 day notice, but must give written notice within 90 days from the last date of work setting forth the amount claimed.

Click Here to File a Nevada Pre-Bond Notice Document


Can a mechanics’ lien Claim be filed on Nevada Public Projects?

“In Nevada, no lien may befiled on public projects or publicly owned property. Contractors are required to obtain bonds on public works over a certain amount, and claims against the bond should be filed instead. A Nevada bond claim must be filed within 90 days of the final furnishing of services or materials.”

Click Here to File a Nevada Lien Document