1.888.543.6765 |


Frequently Asked Questions - New Hampshire Mechanics Lien

New Hampshire Lien Documents are Easy to File with LienItNow.com

What is a new Hampshire mechanics' lien claim?

In New Hampshire, liens filed on private property or on funds relating to a public project are known as New Hampshire Mechanic's Liens. When a New Hampshire mechanics lien is filed with regard to work performed on privately owned property, it attaches to and encumbers the fee simple ownership of property. When a New Hampshire mechanics lien is filed with regard to work performed on a publicly or government owned property, it attaches to the fund of money which the public agency has allocated for a project. The reason for this is that you cannot force the sale of publicly owned land (public agencies mean any county, city, town, township, public commission, public board or other municipality authorized by law to make contracts for the making of any public improvement in any city, town, township or other municipality).

Click Here to File a New Hampshire PreLien Document


Who can file a New Hampshire mechanics' lien Claim?

Contractors, as well as subcontractors, sub-subcontractors and suppliers who have a contract with a general contractor or a subcontractor can file a New Hampshire mechanics lien.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Preliminary Notice Document


Are pre-lien notices for a New Hampshire mechanics' lien Claim required?

Pre-lien notices are required in New Hampshire: both a Notice of Furnishing and an Account of Work Performed must be sent at various times. Subcontractors, including those who contract with or supply to direct subcontractors, are entitled to claim a New Hampshire mechanics lien provided he gives written notice to the owner or the person having charge of the property that he shall claim a New Hampshire mechanics lien before performing labor or furnishing materials. While a New Hampshire mechanics lien does not attach until the Notice of Furnishing required by the statute is provided to the owner, a subcontractor may provide notice after the labor or materials are supplied, making the mechanics' lien valid to the extent of sums due or to the contractor. For subcontractors to fully protect themselves and claim their liens, every 30 days the subcontractor must provide to the owner or person having charge of the property on which the New Hampshire mechanics lien is claimed, an Account of Work Performed during the preceding 30 days.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Notice of Furnishing or Account of Work Performed (Prelien Notice Document)


When should a New Hampshire mechanics' lien Claim be filed?

New Hampshire mechanics liens on private property must be filed within 120 days of the last date the lienor provided materials or services to the Project. LienItNow does not process New Hampshire private mechanics liens because they must be filed as a lawsuit with a court. 

Mechanics' liens with regard to public projects can be filed at any time before the completion and acceptance of a public improvement, but no later than 90 days following completion and acceptance of the public project by the state or the public corporation.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Notice of Intent to Lien Document


How much does it cost to file a New Hampshire mechanics' lien Claim?

Unfortunately, LienItNow.com does not file New Hampshire mechanics' liens because in New Hampshire a lawsuit is required to file a lien.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Notice of Furnishing Document


Do I need a written contract in order to file a New Hampshire Mechanics Lien Claim?

 No. Oral contracts are sufficient if you have sufficient documentation to show the existence of an agreement or that you performed the work for which you are filing the New Hampshire mechanics lien claim.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire PreLien Document


How does filing a New Hampshire mechanics' lien Claim help me get my money?

On a private project, the New Hampshire mechanics' lien places an encumbrance on the property that makes it difficult to resell or re-finance the property without first removing the New Hampshire mechanics lien.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Lien Claim Document


What is a New Hampshire Stop Notice and why should it be filed?

LienItNow.com prepares and serves New Hampshire Stop Notices for a fee of $125.00.  A Stop Notice is a notification that has the ability to enhance the effectiveness of a mechanic's lien. A Stop Notice, or a notice to withhold funds, is sent to the company that is financing or funding the construction funds for a project. Once that company receives the Stop Notice, that company has notice that it should withhold sufficient money to satisfy the stop notice claim. The purpose of the Stop Notice is to provide the lender, financiers or funders of the construction project notice that there is money owed to a contractor, subcontractor or supplier so that an inquiry can be made as to why that money is not being paid.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Stop Notice Document


What is a New Hampshire Amendment to a mechanics' lien Claim?

Amendments to a mechanics' lien claim are often needed when something about the claim changes.  Common changes to a lien claim are increases or reductions in the amount due to the lienor, or a change to the last date of work.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire PreLien Document


When should a New Hampshire Discharge of mechanics' lien claim be filed?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves New Hampshire Discharges of mechanics' lien Claims for a fee of $85.00.  Once the lienor has been paid the amount contained in its lien claim, or has come to an agreement that requires the lien claim to be removed from the property records, a Discharge of mechanics' lien Claim should be filed.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Lien Release Document 


How much does it cost to file a New Hampshire Extension of a mechanics' lien Claim?

All lien claims expire after a certain period of time, and filing an extension of the mechanics' lien claim prolongs the expiration date.  New Hampshire law, however, does not permit an extension of mechanics' lien claims.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Lien Extension Document


Can I file a Bond Claim on a New Hampshire Project?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves New Hampshire Bond Claims for a fee of $275.00.  Bond claims can only be filed on a project where the owner, contractor or subcontractor has obtained a payment bond to ensure that every contractor receives payment for the work performed on the Project.  The payment bonds issued by sureties for construction projects have specific timing requirements, but most require claimants to submit claims against the bond within sixty to ninety days from the claimants' last date of work.  Bond claims are more effective than a lien claim because the payment bond acts as a guarantee that payment will be made for work properly completed.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Bond Claim Document


Do I need to file a Pre-Notice to make a claim against a New Hampshire payment bond?

LienItNow.com prepares, files and serves New Hampshire Pre-Notices for bond claims for a fee of $50.00.  Depending on the terms of the payment bond, pre-notices may or may not be required.  LienItNow.com recommends that, prior to or immediately after starting work or delivering materials to a project, subcontractors and suppliers, file a pre-notice that it is a potential beneficiary of the construction project's bond.

Click Here to File a New Hampshire Pre-Bond Notice Document