June 15, 2012 by Stephen
AFTER you have successfully filed your lien, the owner doesn’t always automatically pay what you say is owed. Alaska law requires that a mechanic’s lien be enforced (or legal proceeding begin) within 6 months after the date the Claim of Lien was recorded.
However, Alaska does allow a lien to be extended for an additional 6 months if an Extension Notice is recorded in the same recording office as the original lien within the original 6 month period.
Once you have received payment or have reached a settlement, Alaska State Statutes do not provide who is to cancel a lien when it is satisfied, or by what time the lien needs to be cancelled. LienItNow.com recommends that the lien claimant discharge the lien when payment has been received.
Copyright 2017 NJLien, LLC dba LienItNow. All rights reserved